A’s Strike Victory, Defeat Angels 3-0

On Friday night in Anaheim, the Angels were owned by the Athletics.  Three different pitchers led by Gio Gonzalez combined to fan the Angels 13 separate times.  The amount of wind produced by the Angels bats coming up empty swing after swing did in fact cool down much of Orange County after seeing another day of 100 degree heat.  On this night, it was the A’s who looked to be the team zoning in on their 3rd consecutive AL West division title, rather than the Halos who were just plain flat all night long.  The only Angel starter not to strike out was Torii Hunter, who went 0-4 and appeared to possibly re-aggravate an abdomonial injury that shelved him for a month earlier this year. 

The Rangers beat the Rays to close within 6 games of the Halos.  While I am still not worried about this, the Rangers are coming in for a 4 game series and finally have Josh Hamilton back in the lineup who always feasts on Angels pitching.  The magic number for the Angels to clinch the division is still at 4 as the club will look tomorrow to improve on that.   John Lackey will oppose Dana Eveland the middle game of the 3 game series. 

On a separate note, Red Sox starter and Angel nemesis John Lester was drilled by a line drive in the 3rd inning of his terrible start tonight in New York, and had to leave the game.  X-rays were negative, but it would just be terrible if for some reason this injury keeps him from being on top of his game come the playoffs, where, unless a miracle for the Rangers does happen, it will be another version of Angels/Red Sox.  Hey, one can only hope.

Until next time Angel fans. 

One comment

  1. southernbelle

    Matt: That Gio Gonzalez guy is HOT! He was #5 on my top 5 non Yankee cuties post. He pitched a fabulous game against my Yankees earlier in the season, I think he shut them out. I guess he steps it up when he plays good teams.
    I felt bad for Lester. I hope he is okay. I know, I know, he is on the Red Sox and I am supposed to hate him, but I feel bad. That’s the softy in me. I wish Pukilis got hit; there would be no way that I would feel bad for him!
    -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

